September 19, 2013

Plant Protien in Wine Making

The use of wheat protein (hydrolyzed wheat gluten) and pea protein (isolate) as a processing aid in wine making.These proteins are used in powder or aqueous (of relating or resembling water) form.

The use of these plant proteins is exempt from the premarket approval requirements of the FDA because they have determined such use is "generally recognized as safe" (GRAS) through scientific procedures.

REASON: To remove the harsh, bitter tannin material in wine by forming a insoluble protien-tannin complex which precipitates from wine

Protein "fining" treatment is applied to clarify wine and to reduce astringency. In this process, tannin natural to grapes and wine, which is responsible for astringency and haze in beverages including wine and beer, interact with "fining" proteins to form an insoluble complex which precipitates from wine.

I found the above information here.

If I understand this correctly they add the protein which draws all the tannin together for easy removal to "clarify" the wine?

So, the question is, are manufacturers labeling their products gluten free or not? This remains to be seen. If you read my article Gluten Free = less than 20ppm you will read the following... "The agency may reevaluate the 20 ppm standard as new information becomes available. FDA plans to issue a proposed rule to address how it will assess compliance with this final rule with respect to fermented or hydrolyzed foods or ingredients, for which there are no scientifically valid methods for detecting intact gluten proteins. Also, FDA intends to work with USDA and TTB on the issue of gluten-free food labeling to harmonize requirements for food products regulated by these agencies, where possible."

The final rule has not been ruled upon and Im not sure if and when that will happen. I thought wine was safe and gluten free, but after reading this I'm not so sure! I guess stay with the beverages that state "gluten free" on the label like Widers Pear Cider.

Till next time. Happy eating, learning and living! Gluten Free...


Post a Comment

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a disease of the small intestine. The small intestine is a 22 foot long tube that begins at the stomach and ends at the large intestine (colon). The first 1-1/2 feet of the small intestine (the part that is attached to the stomach) is called the duodenum, the middle part is called the jejunum, and the last part (the part that is attached to the colon) is called the ileum. Food empties from the stomach into the small intestine where it is digested and absorbed into the body. While food is being digested and absorbed, it is transported by the small intestine to the colon. What enters the colon is primarily undigested food. In celiac disease, there is an immunological (allergic) reaction within the inner lining of the small intestine to (gluten) that are present in wheat, rye, barley and, to a lesser extent, in oats. The immunological reaction causes inflammation that destroys the lining of the small intestine. This reduces the absorption of dietary nutrients and can lead to symptoms and signs of nutritional, vitamin, and mineral deficiencies.

I found this information at the link below.

BTW I dont claim to be an expert or doctor. This is information I have found or what has worked for me.