November 30, 2008

Gluten Free Alochol

The following information was found at

You can find more information regarding Gluten-Free Alcohol at
The following links are alcoholic beverages that are gluten free; however, manufacturers do change their ingredients, so be sure to read the label and check with the manufacturer.
Ale and Beer
Brandy is distilled from pears, raspberries, cherries, peaches and other fruits.
Wine generally all wine is gluten free (not according to the link above), but it is best to check with the manufacture to make sure that there are no glutinous additives incorporated into the wine and to also ensure that they were stored in gluten free storage tanks. Some wines are aged in barrels that once contained another substance that could have held a glutinous product. This is rare, but can happen. Also you will want to avoid Wine Coolers. Wine Coolers are NOT Gluten Free, because they contain barely malt.

There is also some concern with cross contamination with wines that involves the practice of sealing the barrels with a flour/water paste that is common with European Union barrel manufacturers. Most US based manufactures currently use a neutral food grade paraffin to seal the barrels during the construction process, but there are some manufacturers that import and use the flour/water based barrels. I spoke with the Kendall Jackson winery regarding this subject and what the risks of cross contamination might be when U.S. wineries use imported barrels from Europe and the consultant I spoke with, stated that all barrels used for storing wine go through a cleaning process in which the barrels are cleaned using a high pressure test with hot water to remove any flour prior to filling. I personally believe any loose flour would be removed but not all of the hardened paste mixture, therefore, I am hesitant to recommend any brands of wines, except the ones I have confirmed do not use this process of sealing their barrels. Wines that are almost always made without barrel aging are Whites: Riesling, Sauvignon Blanc from New Zealand, Italian Pinot Grigio, Bag-In-The-Box wines; and Reds: Bag-In-The-Box wines. Below is a list of wines that I have confirmed are gluten free. The more expensive a wine is the more likely it is barrel aged and that is where you could find gluten.
  • Ingleside - Only the Blue Crab Blanc and Blue Crab Blush, Pinot Grigio, Sauvignon Blanc, Rosato de Sangiovese, Viognier, The Rose, and October Harvest.
  • La Rocca - All wines are not only gluten free, they are sulfite free too
  • Louis Jadot - Only the Maconnais and Beaujolais are made in stainless cask. Their other wine are made in barrels sealed with water and flour.
Cognac is generally made from white grapes. The grapes are pressed and then placed into vats to ferment. Cognac is typically distilled twice in copper pots, this is called Chauffes. It is then transferred to wooden casks, usually made of oak and then allowed to age.
Cider is an alcoholic beverage made primarily from the juices of specially grown varieties of apples. Cider generally has a stronger alcoholic content than typical beer, usually over 5%. To produce cider, apples are washed and mashed, pressed and then fermented in oak vats using natural or added yeasts. Not all Ciders are gluten free, because many manufacturers add barley to them.
Drink Mixers
  • Master of Mixes
    • Tom Collins
    • Whiskey Sour
    • Strawberry Daiquiri
    • Sweet & Sour Mixer
    • Margarita Mix
  • Clamato Tomato Cocktail (Contains Vinegar, avoid if sensitive)
  • Jose Quervo Margarita Mix
  • Coco Casa Cream of Coconut
  • Coco Lopez Cream of Coconut
Grappa is made from pressed grapes
Mead is also known as honey wine. It is created from fermented honey. Honey wine can be traced to 1600 AD
  • Earle Estate Meadery
  • Rabbits Foot Meadery - Pear, Sweet Mead, Dry Mead, & Port made from Mead & Grappa
  • Rocky Mountain Meadery
  • White Winter Mead
Ouzo is created using aniseed, fennel seed and other aromatic plants. It is a considered a traditional drink of Greece. The traditional way to drink Ouzo is 1 part Ouzo and 2 parts water, but it can also be mixed with other types of cocktails
Rum Most Rum is made from Sugar Cane. Make sure to check with the manufacturer.
Sake is made from rice, it is milled to remove the husk and then polished to remove the exterior protein. It is polished to at least 70 % of its original size. It is then washed and steeped to remove all traces of iodine. The Sake is then steamed and Koji and enzyme is added. You need to always check the source of Koji, it can sometimes be derived from barley. It takes 2 - 9 months to brew Sake. Always check with the manufacturer, true traditional sake contains no gluten, but some companies trying to make a cheaper sake add rice syrup and other flavorings that could contain gluten.
  • Memokawa Premium Sake
Tequila is made from the blue agave plant. The blue agave plant is a part of the lily family. It takes 7 to 9 years for this plant to mature. Make sure you check with the manufacturer if you are not sure. Some cheaper tequilas are not made the traditional way and could contain gluten. Mescal is not the same thing as tequila.
  • Sauza
  • Centinela
  • Lopez
  • Orendain
  • Don Julio (in the process of verification)
  • Patron (in the process of verification)
Vodka made from potatoes, tends to have a smoother taste, than vodka made from grains. Always check with the manufacturer, most vodkas are made with grain. The ones listed below are made with potatoes.


Anonymous said...

Found a GREAT vodka being heavily marketed in SD that tastes SO good! Check out

Anonymous said...

KISSUI is a rice based vodka and has a nice clean smooth flavor

Post a Comment

What is Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is a disease of the small intestine. The small intestine is a 22 foot long tube that begins at the stomach and ends at the large intestine (colon). The first 1-1/2 feet of the small intestine (the part that is attached to the stomach) is called the duodenum, the middle part is called the jejunum, and the last part (the part that is attached to the colon) is called the ileum. Food empties from the stomach into the small intestine where it is digested and absorbed into the body. While food is being digested and absorbed, it is transported by the small intestine to the colon. What enters the colon is primarily undigested food. In celiac disease, there is an immunological (allergic) reaction within the inner lining of the small intestine to (gluten) that are present in wheat, rye, barley and, to a lesser extent, in oats. The immunological reaction causes inflammation that destroys the lining of the small intestine. This reduces the absorption of dietary nutrients and can lead to symptoms and signs of nutritional, vitamin, and mineral deficiencies.

I found this information at the link below.

BTW I dont claim to be an expert or doctor. This is information I have found or what has worked for me.