I have had may questions regarding Vinegar. I have been told to stay away from or watch certain types. Do you know how may things contain vinegar?
I have learned that if food manufactured in the United States, has vinegar listed as an ingredient, where just the word "vinegar" appears between commas (for example, "Ingredients: water, vinegar, tomato paste)" the FDA's Compliance Policy Guide for Vinegar requires that the vinegar must be apple cider vinegar. So, if you see just "vinegar" listed as an ingredient (not "malt vinegar" or any other modification), the vinegar is apple cider vinegar.
I found this information at http://www.nowheat.com/grfx/nowheat/primer/iheard.htm
Here is another site (Wheat Free Zone) that has some really good information if you're interested. http://www.nowheat.com/grfx/nowheat/index.htm